FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP LAND USE BOARD MEETING MINUTES January 8, 2014

FLAG SALUTE:

The Franklin Township (Warren County) Land Use Board met for their regular meeting on Wednesday, January 8, 2014 at the Franklin Township Municipal building at 2093 Rt. 57, Broadway, NJ 08808. Board member H. Meltzer called the meeting to order at 7:35 p.m. and declared all aspects of the Open Public Meeting Act had been met by posting notice of this meeting on the bulletin in the Municipal Building and notifying the Municipal Clerk. Advertisement of notice was placed in the Star Gazette of Hackettstown, NJ and the Express Times of Easton, Pa.

OATH OF OFFICE: Oath of office for any new or existing member. Attorney R. Schneider administered the oath of office to Mayor Butler, Jim Onembo, Jeff DeAngelis, Henry Meltzer, Sudha Kantor, Patrick Banes

ROLL CALL:

Present:

Mayor Butler, J. Onembo, J. DeAngelis, H. Meltzer, S. Kantor, P. Banes, J. Van Saders S. Santini

Absent: D. Schnorrbusch, R. Sigler, A. Hart

Also Present: Attorney R. Schneider

OATH OF OFFICE:

Attorney R. Schneider swore in new member J. DeAngelis and existing members, Mayor Butler, Mr. Meltzer, Mr. Onembo, Mr. Schnorrbusch, Ms. Kantor, Mr. Banes

ROLL CALL:

Members Present:

Mayor Butler, Mr. DeAngelis, Mr. Onembo, Mr. Meltzer, Mr. Santini, Mr. Van Saders, Ms. Kantor, Mr. Banes

Members Absent: Mr. Sigler, Mr. Schnorrbusch, Mr. Hart

REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD:

Attorney R. Schneider called for the nomination of the Land Use Board Chairman. A motion was made by Mayor Butler, seconded by Mr. Van Saders to nominate Mr. Meltzer as Land Use Board Chairman, no additional nominations were made. A motion to close nominations was made by Mr. Onembo, seconded by Mayor Butler, all ayes motion carried.

Vote: Butler, Van Saders, Onembo, DeAngelis, Meltzer, Santini, Kantor, Banes – Ayes, 0 – Nay, 0 – Abstain, all ayes motion carried. Mr. Meltzer assumed the position as Chairman.

Chairman H. Meltzer called for the nomination of the Land Use Board Vice Chairman. A motion was made by Mr. Onembo, seconded by Mr. Santini to nominate Mr. Van Saders as Land Use Board Vice Chairman, no additional nominations were made. A motion to close nominations was made by Mr. Onembo, seconded by Mr. Santini, all ayes motion carried. Vote: Butler, Kantor, Meltzer, DeAngelis, Onembo, Santini, Van Saders, Kantor, Banes – Ayes, 0 – Nay, 0 – Abstain, all ayes motion carried. Mr. Van Saders assumed the position as Vice Chairman.

Appointments:

Appointment of the Land Use Board Secretary. A motion was made by Mr. Meltzer, seconded by Mr. Van Saders to re-appoint Margaret Housman as Land Use Board Secretary. Vote: Meltzer, Van Saders, Butler, DeAngelis, Onembo, Santini, Kantor, Banes - Ayes, 0 – Nay, 0 – Abstain, all ayes motion carried.

A motion to approve the resolution authorizing contracts with Richard Schneider, Esq. of Vogel, Chait, Collins & Schneider as Attorney-Michael Finelli, P.E. of Finelli Consulting Engineers as Engineer – James Kyle P.P. of Kyle Planning and Design LLC. as Planner for Professional Services for 2014. A motion to approve was made by Mr. Onembo, seconded by Mr. Santini, Vote: Onembo, Santini, Butler, Meltzer, DeAngelis, Van Saders, Kantor, Banes – Ayes, 0 – Nay, 0 – Abstain, all ayes motion carried.

The Express Times and Star Gazette were adopted as the official newspaper designated for Sunshine Law notices. A motion to approve was made by Mr. DeAngelis, seconded by Mr. Van Saders, all ayes motion carried.

A motion to adopt the 2014 Land Use Board regular and workshop schedule was made by Mayor Butler, seconded by Mr. Meltzer, all ayes motion carried.

MINUTES:

A motion to approve the December 4, 2013 minutes as written was made by Mr. Van Saders, seconded by Mr. Meltzer, Vote: Van Saders, Meltzer, Butler, Onembo, Santini, Kantor, Banes – Ayes, 0 – Nay, 0 – Abstain, all ayes motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT: No public comment was offered.

BILL LIST: A motion to approve vouchers submitted for payment was made by Mr. Van Saders, seconded by Mr. Meltzer, Vote: Van Saders, Meltzer, Butler, Onembo, Santini, Kantor, Banes – Ayes, 0 – Nay, DeAngelis – Abstain, all ayes motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT:

With no further business before the board and no public comment offered the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Margaret Housman, Secretary